The Cooperative Movement offers opportunities to the educated youth to form their Cooperatives in newer gainful commercial areas, so that they can earn their livelihood in an institutionalized way and that too gracefully.
In pursuit to the above, the Cooperative Department has been engaged in registration of Cooperative Societies/Cooperatives in different economic areas like, agriculture, dairy. Poultry, housing, floriculture, medical, educational, consumer business, banking, micro credit, women empowerment, transport, vegetable growers Coop., Labour etc.
Accordingly, Cooperative Institutions have been registered under either The Jammu and Kashmir Cooperative Societies, Act of 1989 or The Jammu and Kashmir Self Reliant Cooperatives Act of 1999 as both the Acts are concurrently in force in the UT.
Structure of Cooperative Sector under the Cooperative Societies Act of 1989 (sector-wise at various tiers):-

S.No. Level of society Agriculture sector Credit sector Consumer sector
1 Primary (Village level) PACS MPCS / Credit Society Primary Consumer Store
2 Central (Block/ District level) Marketing Society Central Cooperative Bank District Consumer Store
3 Apex (Province/ UT level) JAKFED (under liquidation) State Cooperative Bank -

In addition to the above, there is J&K Cooperative Union in the Cooperative Education Sector, which operates throughout the state of Jammu & Kashmir. The main aim of this Organisation is to promote cooperative education and impart training to co-operators.

Information regarding Apex Societies

S.No. Level of society Agriculture sector
1 JAKFED (under liquidation) 1950
2 Housing Corporation 1982
3 Cooperative Union 1939
4 SCARDB 1954
5 State Cooperative Bank 1957

Various Type of Cooperative Societies registered under The Jammu & Kashmir Cooperative Societies Act of 1989 (before enactment of the Self Reliant Act)

Kashmir division

S.No. Category of Societies Number Remarks
1 Apex Level 2 -J&K State Cooperative Bank
-J&K State Co-operative Agriculture and Rural Development Bank (SCARDB).
2 District Banks 2 District Central Co-operative Banks, Anantnag& Baramulla
3 Urban Banks 2 Urban Cooperative Bank, Anantnag. Sopore Mercantile Coop. Bank
4 District Co-operative Consumer Stores 5 Anantnag, Baramulla, Pulwama, Srinagar (at Miskeen Bagh & Wazir Bagh).
5 Central Level Societies 53  
6 PACS 397 Amalgamated
7 Sale and Service Societies 29  
8 Primary Consumer Stores 12  
9 Primary Housing Societies 82  
10 Others 135 Varied disciplines

Jammu Division

S.No. Category of Societies Number Remarks
1 Apex Level 3 Jammu & Kashmir Cooperative Supply & Marketing Federation Limited (JAKFED), J&K Co-operative Housing Federation Limited, The J&K Cooperative Union Limited
2 DCCB 1 JCCB is the DCCB for Jammu Division
3 Urban Banks 2 Citizens Coop. Bank Jammu, Devika Urban Coop. Bank Udhampur
4 JAK Ex-Servicemen Consumer Store 1 Vanaspati unit
5 Super Bazar 1 Consumer Store
6 Central Level / (M/S) 49  
7 PACS 369  
8 Primary Cons. Stores. 80  
9 Primary Housing Societies 24  
10 Others 342  

Year-wise / Discipline-wise registration of Cooperatives under J&K Self-Reliant Act 1999.

Year Agriculture Housing Poultry Dairy Floriculture Others Total
2001-02 14 9 1 1 - 21 46
2002-03 32 2 1 1 2 40 78
2003-04 92 11 290 77 4 50 524
2004-05 63 7 106 108 2 37 323
2005-06 134 15 8 104 4 21 286
2006-07 36 6 4 20 - 6 72
2007-08 62 9 5 2 1 38 117
2008-09 64 13 3 62 - 39 181
2009-10 63 2 - 64 - 38 167
2010-11 44 6 1 - - 22 73

Role of Govt. in Nurturing Cooperative Movement:

Cooperative Movement of India is being termed as an appendage of Govt. It is rightly being said that the Movement has started at the initiative of the Govt. In India. Law on Cooperatives has preceded the actual formation of the Cooperatives. In the post independence era, the successive Govts have helped the Cooperative Institutions legally, morally and financially. Under the legal help, each State Govt. has its own Cooperative Societies Act. The registration renders the Cooperative Society concerned the status of a legal entity.

Under the moral help the Govt. has been entrusting the distribution of essential commodities and Agricultural Inputs to the Cooperatives Institutions, while under the financial help the Govt. has directly contributed to the Share Capital of the Cooperative Institutions, besides , providing generous financial support in the form of loans, subsidies etc. The financial help from the Govt. has helped the Cooperative Institutions to build a niche and create fixed assets in the form of land and buildings. It may be in place to mention that the UT Govt. has contributed more than Rs. 3300.00 lacs as Share Capital with different Cooperative Institutions all over the UT.

Cooperative Banks in Jammu & Kashmir
There are 9 banks under Cooperative Sector in the J&K State. Of these, 4 are Non-Urban Banks and 4 Urban Banks. J&K UT Cooperative Agriculture and Rural Development Bank (SCARDB) is the 9th Bank. The details of Urban and Non-Urban Cooperative Banks are as follows:

Non-Urban Cooperative Banks:
    1. J&K State Cooperative Bank
    2. Jammu Central Cooperative Bank
    3. Baramulla Central Cooperative Bank
    4. Anantnag Central Cooperative Bank
Urban Cooperative Banks:
    1. Jammu Citizen's Cooperative Bank
    2. Urban Cooperative Bank, Anantnag
    3. Devika Urban Cooperative Bank, Udhampur
    4. Kashmir Mercantile Cooperative Bank, Sopore.